AirlinesAirportsTravel Destinations

EU agrees to reopen its borders to 14 more countries

The EU has now extended its ban on visitors from the United States and most other countries further, citing epidemiological factors for this decision. The US is currently the center of the coronavirus pandemic, with several new recent outbreaks in the country, which almost has 3 million confirmed cases.

Other countries, which had the travel ban extended in the European Union include Brazil, Russia and India, which has seen an increase in positive cases in the past weeks. United States, Brazil, Russia and India has the highest number of confirmed coronavirus cases in the world.

Countries allowed into the EU

The EU now allows visitors from Australia, Canada and Japan to visit. Chinese travelers will be allowed to visit pending reciprocal access to China for EU visitors. Other countries which are approved for EU travel include; Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The UK will be treated as part of the EU until the end of the year, according to the EU Council. In the UK there’s currently a mandatory quarantine period of 14 days for visitors in the country. Many other EU countries has since withdrawn similar mandatory quarantine periods.

The list of approved countries is technically a recommendation; the European Union says member countries will have the final say in how the restrictions are eased in their individual countries.

US president Donald Trump is maintaining its ban on EU nationals from entering the country since mid-March.

EU will update the list of banned and permitted countries every 14 days.

Liked the post? Feel free to share
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *